by Philip Pfanstiel

Janette Oke went west with her novels about women settlers and struck gold. The eight novels she wrote comprised her first series and have also debuted as the first to the big screen.

Since the Love Comes Softly series was published Janette Oke has gone on to write over 75 books with sell of over 23 million copies. Her success highlights her ability to connect with her audience and provide women the strong characters, situations and struggles that everyone experiences sooner or later.

Oke has met with similar success as her novels were adapted and made into movies by Hallmark Channel and Michael Landon Jr. The first two movies starred Katherine Heigl (an A-list actress on TV’s Grey’s Anatomy and movies) as the matriarch of the series. Installments 3 thru 8 follow the continuing history of the family as seen through three generations of women.

While not skirting the tragedy, violence and harshness of the Wild West, the series takes a very soft brush to this often bleak landscape and has produced a realistic but kind portrait of the West. Oke even turns to her own family’s history as settlers in Eastern Canada for inspiration for the “Love Comes Softly” series. She also used her husband and sons as models for the strong but caring men that populate the series.

The Dove Foundation has given all of the first seven DVDs its approval for family viewing of 12+. While four of the seven even received approval for all ages (Volumes 1, 2, 6, & 7).

The Hallmark Channel will be broadcasting the first seven volumes of the series on September 5. You can also purchase the series in box sets or individually.

The Complete Released Series Volumes 1-8
Box Set #1 (Volumes 1-3)
Box Set #2 (Volumes 4-6)
Love Comes Softly (Volume One)
Love’s Enduring Promise (Vol. 2)
Love’s Long Journey (Vol. 3)
Love’s Abiding Joy (Vol. 4)
Love’s Unending Legacy (Vol. 5)
Love’s Unfolding Dream (Vol. 6)
Love Takes Wing (Vol. 7)
and Love Finds a Home (Volume Eight) -Available November 17, 2009